A Son Remembers

world-greatest-dad-coloring-page-source_264

we celebrate.. we remember..

On a typical Sunday morning, most people would be having the day off, or in the very least have an extra hour of staying in bed. Of course, I’m not with that demographic. Still had to get up early, as there was a scheduled minor operation that I was do intra-operative monitoring, not really because I needed to, I had complete faith in the skills of the surgeon doing the surgery,  but because the patient, who also happens to be my friend asked me to be there.  In exchange she gave me a smile and thanked me for staying with her during the procedure.

Next on my agenda for the day was to do my rounds at the hospital to check on my admitted patients.  I was about to leave when the son of one of my patients asked if he could talk to me privately. He said he wanted to know the prognosis of his father who suffered a myocardial infarction, but since he was already in the room when I discussed it with the patient and their other relatives, I felt that he wanted to say something else. In the end, it was just really a case of son who wanted the best for his father. So I reassured him that we will do everything, prayers included. He thanked me and I excused myself as I tell him that I too have to visit my father today.

It’s been five years the last time I was here in a similar condition. I was still moonlighting then just to make sure I had gainful employment. The place is still the same, but now I see that several other people who probably had the same idea as me. I also noticed that someone left a candle. It was still warm when I touched it and I had a hunch who came here before me. Just like before I wasn’t big on small talk so I again reassured him as well that I very well intend to keep my promise to take care of my mother, my brother and sister the same way that he would have done.

And before I go, a prayer is offered in silence, I look up in the sky and whisper “Happy Father’s Day Dad”

About allen mallari

physician by profession, writing is his other passion. irregularly updates his blogs spread precariously over the web. he also has a penchant for the absurd, the sublime and everything in between. View all posts by allen mallari

One response to “A Son Remembers

Leave a Reply

