Children of the Moon

Wheter real or not, there is always something mystical when one gazes at the full moon..

I remember that there was a time during my Psych rotation when I spent a good number of hours listening to people who claim hear voices that vary from mumblings to eloquent conversations with beings seen only by them, sometimes causing them to have sleepless nights and grumpy mornings. Sometimes it even gets worse and they as let the voices in their heads take control of their lives.

Of course they are a whole better lot than the encountering people who scream at the top of their lungs “I don’t know why I’m here, I’m not the one who’s sick, it’s you, you! YOU!! who needs help!!” kind of people.
Then again there’s also the handful few who have seemingly made a solemn vow of sheer deafening silence and have contained themselves in an impenetrable albeit invisible force field, with nary a care in the world.

Welcome to the world of the unreal and fantasy become the norm, and sanity has been left at the door. Here I have close and sometimes unforgettable encounters with the sons and daughters of Luna, sometimes a little too close and more personal for comfort.

In keeping with patient doctor confidentiality, I shall not disclose their real identities, but allow me to share in some of the thoughts running in my own, hopefully still sane at the time of consultation.

There was for example the time when I was seeing a patient and was asked her companion to confirmation of facts she stated. All went well, the patient was apparently stable and I advised the patient on what to do until the next visit. Imagine my surprise though when I called up the next patient… it was my previous patient’s companion! Apparently he was also there for his follow up consult. He didn’t even want to stay still, “just give me my prescription for my shot so I can leave” he asked, nope, ordered me. And being the good doctor that I am, I was only too willing to oblige.

Eventually I learned to handle these situations and politely ask them to sit down so that we can finish the consultation with neither of us needing surgical consults. It’s also a good thing that the last doctor who rotated kept good notes, he was stable according to her assessment of the patient, then again, it’s been a while since their last consult and a lot of things can or could have happened.

At the end of the half day session, I realized why we don’t do this the whole day: any more and I myself would probably be in need of those nifty white long sleeved jackets that seem so in fashion with these patients.

 [Originally Posted on 12.4.2005 at 11:58 PM at inkblot.easyjournal.com; slightly modified and updated for this blog post]

About allen mallari

physician by profession, writing is his other passion. irregularly updates his blogs spread precariously over the web. he also has a penchant for the absurd, the sublime and everything in between. View all posts by allen mallari

Leave a Reply

